GYY – Be Healthy

Due to some technical difficulties – the time release malfunctioning – the blog has not been posting as planned and I apologize.  To make up for it, here are some deee-rish-ious recipes!

First up, taken from a friend and fellow UBCO Heat – Mate of mine’s blog Rootz of Roz Mango Salsa. …mmmm mangoes.  

 

I love mangoes but this ones for my Mom because I don’t think I know anyone who loves mangoes more than her!  

I went out and bought the ingredients I needed for this bad boy yesterday and am looking forward to whipping some up later on today!  

Next up, my all-time favourite Quinoa Salad recipe from my all-time favourite recipe books Whitewater Cooks: Chickpea, Quinoa and Roasted Yam Salad.  

Fresh Tracks is THE restaurant at Whitewater, the ski hill in Nelson.  They make the BEST food and you can try it at home using one of their 3 amazing cook books.  I received the first one for Christmas one year from my Dad and Stepmom who live in the Kootneys (My second home) and fell in love with it.  I’m pretty sure my sister and I make this salad every time we hang out and make dinner together.  My sister and I were given the second and third cookbooks, to our surprise at subsequent Christmases…best gifts ever.  Who woulda thunk that there could be more awesome and healthy (for the most part) recipes coming from the same creator! Woop woop!  Anywhoo, if that little rant wasn’t convincing enough…I’d suggest picking one up and trying out some of the recipes!

Last but not least here’s a green smoothie recipe to get your cells jumping for joy and in keeping with the theme of our glorious weather we are experiencing right now, it’s called the Sun-kissed Smoothie – this link is to a video too, because who doesn’t love a little video now and again.  

Packed with vitamin C and antioxidants this smoothie is made with lemon, orange, mangoes – yep more mangoes (side note: I’m SO looking forward to mid-summer when you can purchase a whole box of mangoes at the grocery store and we now have TONS of different ways to consume them), cashews and water.  

Two more days left of this first week in May and the Be Healthy portion of the Grow Your Yoga Challenge! 

-MYK

Leave a comment